Salt Lake Area Vocational School dedicatory exercises, 1952
Black and white photograph of four men, standing, with partially folded flag. Left to right: Herman Jansen (holding flag), Jay L. Nelson (holding flag), Heber Bennion, Dr. Allen Bateman. March 24, 1952.
Photos 45C8602-001, 45C8602-002, 45C8602-003, 45C8602-004, and 45C8602-005 are of the dedication of the First Phase of the O.C. Tanner Fountain, which was held 14 October 1985 (not May 1986 as indicated in the printing at the base of the photos). Photos 45C8602-006 and 45C8602-007 are of the dedication of the Second Phase of the O.C. Tanner Fountain, which was held in May 1986, as indicated. It is reported that when O. C. Tanner saw the fountain just before the first dedication he was disappointed in its lack of size and height. He therefore contributed additional funds to allow it to be made taller and more impressive. This larger fountain was completed in early 1986 and dedicated in May of that year (exact date not known).
1991-1993 Scrapbook: The Building Process and Celebration of the New Markosian Library
A Scrapbook covering the allocation of land and funding for building the new Redwood Campus Library; the building of the Markosian (Redwood Campus) Library; and the celebration / opening of the Markosian Library on November 16, 1993. Included are newspaper articles from the College Student Newspaper (The Horizon), excerpts from the College Newsletters, and newspaper clippings from public news outlets in the Salt Lake area. In addition to a plethora of photographs documenting the building, moving process, and opening celebration, are bookmarks and invitations celebrating the opening.
Program for the dedication ceremony of the College Center (now the Student Center) at the Taylorsville Redwood Campus on April 26, 1974. Program includes events, information about the architect, and a statement of purpose regarding the role of the college union.
On Monday, September 29, Salt Lake Community College President Deneece G. Huftalin honored former SLCC President Jay L. Nelson by dedicating the newly opened green space where the former Taylorsville Redwood Campus administration building once stood. Former President Jay L. Nelson was in office for 29 years while the school was still named Utah Technical College. The dedicated green space and the legacy fountain located east of the Student Center now show Nelson’s name, as well as his family’s, in the form of pave stones and a dedicated bench. Part of President Nelson’s legacy comes in the form of SLCC’s independent status; he didn’t allow the college to be absorbed into other institutions, providing an affordable technical education for citizens and creating a second home for many alumni and students. Former President Nelson’s son, Bruce Nelson, spoke on behalf of his three brothers and sister. Nelson talked about his life with his father and his childhood spent at SLCC while President Nelson was active.