On Monday, September 29, Salt Lake Community College President Deneece G. Huftalin honored former SLCC President Jay L. Nelson by dedicating the newly opened green space where the former Taylorsville Redwood Campus administration building once stood. Former President Jay L. Nelson was in office for 29 years while the school was still named Utah Technical College. The dedicated green space and the legacy fountain located east of the Student Center now show Nelson’s name, as well as his family’s, in the form of pave stones and a dedicated bench. Part of President Nelson’s legacy comes in the form of SLCC’s independent status; he didn’t allow the college to be absorbed into other institutions, providing an affordable technical education for citizens and creating a second home for many alumni and students. Former President Nelson’s son, Bruce Nelson, spoke on behalf of his three brothers and sister. Nelson talked about his life with his father and his childhood spent at SLCC while President Nelson was active.
Salt Lake Community College exhibit of antique radios. Radio has a long history and a strong influence in the American culture, but a lesser known fact is that radio began as a hobby. The first voices and music heard over the radio came from Reginald Fessenden in December 1906. He initially broadcasted to anyone who had a radio, which was a luxury at the time. Then came “The Golden Age of Radio,” circa 1930-1955. During this period, creators connected with their audiences through radio plays, advertisements, and music. Society started embracing this new medium as a mainstream form of entertainment. It was through these years of radio that listeners really developed a connection and rapport with broadcasters. Not only did audiences listen to the radio for news, but would look to the broadcasters for opinions, and generally they began to become household friends.
View of the Nelson Quad and water fountain with the Nelson family stone inscriptions in the foreground. Located where the former Salt Lake Community College Taylorsville Redwood Campus administration building once stood.